WISH YOU HAD FRIENDS LIKE THAT?

I’ve been reflecting on some of the relationships I’ve had over the years, and I’ve been reminded what true friendship can mean.  Over 30 years ago I shared, in a meeting of business associates, that I knew beyond a shadow of doubt that if I picked up the phone and called the leader of that organization, Jerry, and said, “I don’t have time to explain, but I need you to be in Los Angeles by morning.  It’s a matter of life and death,” that if it were at all possible he would have been there.  I also have a former boss that, though we haven’t worked together in nearly 20 years, I believe would still do the same for me today.  

What makes for those kinds of relationships?  The first word that comes to my mind is LOYALTY.  If you want to expect loyalty you need to give loyalty.  I told that meeting over 30 years ago that the reason I knew Jerry would be there for me is because he knew I would do the same for him.  I also know that my former boss of nearly 20 years ago knows that, still today, I would be there for him if he ever needed me.   That boss from nearly 20 years ago was my pastor, but when we met he said he would be my friend, first, and my pastor second. And, he proved true to his word, and so earned my loyalty.  So, how do you get friends like that? It’s simple. BE A FRIEND LIKE THAT!

About Pastor Jim Dixon

Jim Dixon is a husband, father, grandfather, pastor, missionary and with his wife, Marsha, an author. Jim and Marsha are founders of God's Blueprint for Marriage, a ministry based on the experiences they had during reconciliation and restoration of their tumultuous marriage that would have ended in divorce, had it not been for God's intervention. Their marriage workshop called, not surprisingly, "God's Blueprint for Marriage" shares details of their failing marriage and, more importantly, the lessons they learned during the restoration process. Their book, "God's Blueprint for Marriage", is available through their web site, www.godsblueprint.info Jim is Missions and Small Groups Pastor at their church, Word of Life Fellowship. He and Marsha have a strong ministry presence in Peru, where he is a leader in the Evangelical Church of Christ of Peru, a Peruvian denomination. And Marsha is founder of Mujeres de Valor (Women of Worth), a ministry helping women in Peru find their place in service to God. They also work with Victory Bible College-Peru and Victory Fellowship of Ministries, organizations dedicated to training and supporting pastors and church leaders in that nation. Their two sons, Michael and Jeffrey, are also in ministry, Jeffrey full time as Youth Pastor of their church. Additionally they have a number of "adopted" sons and daughters, many of whom are in ministry as well. Jim is a professional storm chaser. You can hear him during severe weather in NW Arkansas on 40/29.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

