FIRST REPORT FROM PERU Oct 18

Greetings from Lima!

We arrived Wednesday evening following an uneventful trip.  However, upon arriving I discovered I had left my laptop power supply in Arkansas.  Our spiritual kids, Jose and Raquel Vicente, managed to find one for me and I’m back in business.

Thursday we took a bus tour of Lima with Paul Diamond’s family and friends who were here for the wedding, getting to know them.  Friday was the rehearsal, followed by the wedding on Saturday.  I will not take time here to tell the whole wedding story.  But it was a beautiful wedding, albeit chilly (it was outdoors, temps in the low 60’s and high humidity.) I co-officiated the service with Paul’s friend and pastor, Steve Pond.The reception that followed was a several-hour sit-down dinner and dance.  It was a great time. 

Sunday I preached first in the Evangelical Church of Christ in San Martin, where our friend Juan de Dios Huaman is pastor.  My message was taken from  Jude 3, “Fight for What You Believe”.    We fight that fight by: 1) Building up your faith; 2) Praying in the Spirit; and 3) Wrapping yourself in God’s Love.  At the altar call two people came forward to receive Christ.   Praise God!

The second service Sunday was at the Comunidad de Fe (Community of Faith), home church of Pastor Julio and Soledad Romero, two of our closest friends.  There I preached from 2 Corinthians 10:3-6, that our spiritual battles often manifest in the flesh, and how to fight them.  Four people received Christ in that service.  Following the altar call Soledad asked me to pray for the church leaders.  As I prayed the Lord gave me insight to some of their battles and I was able to minister hope and healing to them.

The third service was at one of the Evangelical Church of Christ churches in San Juan de Lurigancho, where Eli Chavez is pastor.   Pastor Eli is also the current president of the denomination.  It was a very special service celebrating Pentecost, and I ministered to a packed house.  Throughout the evening several groups ministered in song and/or dance, and the air of celebration was evident.  During the worship time I sensed the message I had prepared was not appropriate for the evening.  So I sought the Lord for the right words for the people.  God, who is always faithful, took me to Jonathan and David’s covenant relationship and how it extended to Mephibosheth, Jonathan’s grandson.  Moving forward to Christ’s covenant relationship with his disciples, I explained how that covenant is extended to us, with all the rights and privileges contained therein.  When I finished the message I invited those who had not entered into that covenant relationship with Christ to do so, and about twenty men and women came forward for salvation.  Praise the Lord!!!

Marsha missed the second and third services because she was not feeling well.  She was better yesterday, however.  I was dealing with a sinus infection when we arrived, but I am better now, also.  I share that because, first of all, thank you for your prayers during our trip.  I am sure they have had a hand in our recovery.  But the other reason I share is because during my devotional time yesterday, I realized that our illnesses are not a coincidence, because this evening I begin the Signs and Wonders in the Marketplace Evangelism Seminar, which focuses on God’s healing power.  The devil will do whatever he can to impact our ministry, and what better way to try than attack our credibility by making us sick when I’ll be teaching on healing.  However, when I came to that realization, I said out loud, “I have no credibility anyway; it’s not about me.  And Lord, Your credibility is never in question!”  Almost immediately both Marsha and I began to feel better.

Yesterday we spent the day with Jose and Raquel and their children, Jose Andres and Maria Angelica, just hanging out with them and having a great time.  Today Marsha and I will work on our book, “God’s Blueprint for Marriage”, and I’ll prepare for the first Marketplace Evangelism Seminar session tonight.

As always, we are grateful for your prayers and support.  We could not do this without you.  Thank you and God bless.

In His Love,

Jim and Marsha

About Pastor Jim Dixon

Jim Dixon is a husband, father, grandfather, pastor, missionary and with his wife, Marsha, an author. Jim and Marsha are founders of God's Blueprint for Marriage, a ministry based on the experiences they had during reconciliation and restoration of their tumultuous marriage that would have ended in divorce, had it not been for God's intervention. Their marriage workshop called, not surprisingly, "God's Blueprint for Marriage" shares details of their failing marriage and, more importantly, the lessons they learned during the restoration process. Their book, "God's Blueprint for Marriage", is available through their web site, www.godsblueprint.info Jim is Missions and Small Groups Pastor at their church, Word of Life Fellowship. He and Marsha have a strong ministry presence in Peru, where he is a leader in the Evangelical Church of Christ of Peru, a Peruvian denomination. And Marsha is founder of Mujeres de Valor (Women of Worth), a ministry helping women in Peru find their place in service to God. They also work with Victory Bible College-Peru and Victory Fellowship of Ministries, organizations dedicated to training and supporting pastors and church leaders in that nation. Their two sons, Michael and Jeffrey, are also in ministry, Jeffrey full time as Youth Pastor of their church. Additionally they have a number of "adopted" sons and daughters, many of whom are in ministry as well. Jim is a professional storm chaser. You can hear him during severe weather in NW Arkansas on 40/29.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

