All His Promises Are “YES!”

Yesterday (August 14) during a powerful time of praise and worship I joined in the celebration  of praise with a youthful exuberance that I, due to bone-on-bone arthritis in my right knee, has been impossible without significant pain.  I didn’t think much about it.

The occasion was Sunday morning service with special guest speaker Dale Everett.  Though his healing ministry was highly regarded by my pastor, Bill Rogers, I was skeptical.   Remember, I came to NW AR from Tulsa, where virtually every flaky ministry either started, wound up or at least passed through.  But when Everett began to preach that skepticism began to fade.  He was articulate, homilitically and theologically sound (my fundy and mainline friends might disagree), and exuded a humility that, frankly, surprised me.  It was a good message, and he ended with a salvation altar call.  Through the entire message the emphasis was on Jesus and not “his (the speaker’s) gifts.

Last night Everett preached from 2 Corinthians 120–a text I have used many times myself–and focused on hearing the “yes” of God, then adding our “amen” to seal the deal.  At the end I heard the “yes”, sensing God telling me that my arthritic right knee was healed.  Everett didn’t have a prayer line, but instead asked people who was hearing the “yes” to come forward to add the “amen”.  Both Marsha and I went forward, Marsha for her degenerative disk disease, and me for my knee.  As I write this Marsha is still in bed, but I am up (obviously) and have full flexibility in my knee and no pain!

This is not a review of Everett’s ministry, but of the power of Jesus Christ to deliver God’s promises through His sacrifice.  There are over 7,000 promises in the Bible, and through Jesus EVERY ONE OF THEM IS “YES”!  When we hear him speak the promise is fulfilled, and we say “Amen.”  And it’s not about our faith, but His faithfulness.

So, when you pray, listen for His “YES,” and when He speaks, seal the deal with your “AMEN.”  I’m going to be listening for those “YES” answers and expecting my miracles, knowing that when He speaks a promise into my life, it’s DONE!

About Pastor Jim Dixon

Jim Dixon is a husband, father, grandfather, pastor, missionary and with his wife, Marsha, an author. Jim and Marsha are founders of God's Blueprint for Marriage, a ministry based on the experiences they had during reconciliation and restoration of their tumultuous marriage that would have ended in divorce, had it not been for God's intervention. Their marriage workshop called, not surprisingly, "God's Blueprint for Marriage" shares details of their failing marriage and, more importantly, the lessons they learned during the restoration process. Their book, "God's Blueprint for Marriage", is available through their web site, www.godsblueprint.info Jim is Missions and Small Groups Pastor at their church, Word of Life Fellowship. He and Marsha have a strong ministry presence in Peru, where he is a leader in the Evangelical Church of Christ of Peru, a Peruvian denomination. And Marsha is founder of Mujeres de Valor (Women of Worth), a ministry helping women in Peru find their place in service to God. They also work with Victory Bible College-Peru and Victory Fellowship of Ministries, organizations dedicated to training and supporting pastors and church leaders in that nation. Their two sons, Michael and Jeffrey, are also in ministry, Jeffrey full time as Youth Pastor of their church. Additionally they have a number of "adopted" sons and daughters, many of whom are in ministry as well. Jim is a professional storm chaser. You can hear him during severe weather in NW Arkansas on 40/29.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

