Final Preparations for Upcoming Peru Trip

Greetings in Jesus’ Marvelous Name!

 I am making my final preparations for my trip to Lima next week, leaving the 7th and returning on the 15th.  I discovered last night that my flight from Lima to the United States leaves shortly after midnight on the 15th.  I had planned to leave late on the 15th, giving me Wednesday evening to minister before leaving, but mis-booked the flight, so I’ll be back a day sooner than expected.  But that’s okay, because my primary purpose in going is to minister at the Pastors and Leaders Conference of the Evangelical Church of Christ of Peru, and that’s all set.

 I’ve already written about the problems facing the Evangelical Church of Christ, so I won’t reiterate.  But I will ask, again, for your prayers for the denomination, and for me as I go to encourage them.  The topics they have asked me to address are 1) Biblical model of a leader; and 2) Transfer of a lasting leadership.  Then I will close the conference on Saturday with a message about focusing on the goal in the midst of opposition (at least that’s the plan for now.) 

 I want to share with you about my miracle airline ticket from Lima to the conference’s host city of Trujillo.  One of the Peruvian airlines was offering one-way ticket prices between Lima and Trujillo for $59, or only about 25 dollars more than the 10-hour bus ride.  I went online to book the flight using a church credit card and, because the card was not in my name, it was rejected.  I tried again using my own card, only to find the outbound ticket was $65.00, and my own card was rejected.  Thinking I might have mis-posted a number, I tried again and the price was $76.00, but was rejected again.  The third time I tried the price was $92.00, and I balked at trying that time.  I called the bank to find out what the problem was, and learned Visa had denied approval of the purchase as potentially fraudulent.  After straightening that problem out, I decided to try another airline rather than get jacked around further on ticket prices, and booked round trip for $58.00 including taxes!  That’s God’s intervention/provision at work—sometimes He prospers us through increased income, but other times He does so through lowered prices.

 I’ll be in Lima for one day before departing for Trujillo, and for two days after leaving there.  I’m planning on spending that time encouraging pastors, spending time with our Peru family, and ministering in churches as doors of opportunity open.  I’ve never been short of ministry opportunities, and I’m sure this trip will be no exception.

 Thank you for your support through your prayers and your finances. You can still help financially.  Extra funds received will help pay for food for the conference in Trujillo, where they will be  feeding three meals a day for three days to perhaps more than one thousand people—that’s nine thousand meals or more that will be served!  You can make your check payable to Word of Life Fellowship, and an IRS receipt for tax purposes will be provided.  Please memo the check “Dixon-Peru” or something similar so the church will know the purpose of your give.  The address is 808 SW 14th Street, Bentonville AR 72712.

 I’ll post updates on my blog and on our ministry web site, Godsblueprint.info, and brief reports on FaceBook as time and Internet access permit.  Thank you, again, for being a part of the team!  God bless.

About Pastor Jim Dixon

Jim Dixon is a husband, father, grandfather, pastor, missionary and with his wife, Marsha, an author. Jim and Marsha are founders of God's Blueprint for Marriage, a ministry based on the experiences they had during reconciliation and restoration of their tumultuous marriage that would have ended in divorce, had it not been for God's intervention. Their marriage workshop called, not surprisingly, "God's Blueprint for Marriage" shares details of their failing marriage and, more importantly, the lessons they learned during the restoration process. Their book, "God's Blueprint for Marriage", is available through their web site, www.godsblueprint.info Jim is Missions and Small Groups Pastor at their church, Word of Life Fellowship. He and Marsha have a strong ministry presence in Peru, where he is a leader in the Evangelical Church of Christ of Peru, a Peruvian denomination. And Marsha is founder of Mujeres de Valor (Women of Worth), a ministry helping women in Peru find their place in service to God. They also work with Victory Bible College-Peru and Victory Fellowship of Ministries, organizations dedicated to training and supporting pastors and church leaders in that nation. Their two sons, Michael and Jeffrey, are also in ministry, Jeffrey full time as Youth Pastor of their church. Additionally they have a number of "adopted" sons and daughters, many of whom are in ministry as well. Jim is a professional storm chaser. You can hear him during severe weather in NW Arkansas on 40/29.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

